Starting again 

Sometimes barriers are put in our way so we have to rethink our path. I lost my sponsor and was unsure whether to ask the person I want to ask as a replacement as I knew she had a couple of other sponsees on the go, and didn’t want to ‘bother’ her. So I approached someone else just to get me thro the next 3 steps ( as was suggested by my old sponsor) this person has now decided she doesn’t want to and so I was left with no one. Then I remembered what it says in the program about caretaking! If I assume that I’m helping by not asking then not only am I blocking my own recovery but I’m not allowing the person to make the choice for themselves. So I asked. The answer was yes. But she wants me to start over. Back to step 1. I understand the reason for that, and of course my impatience for getting on and doing it kicked in but now I’m grateful. I am actually excited to go back and start again, it’s been a long time since I started with step one so I’m actually excited to see how my answers have changed, how my understanding has changed. 

We admitted that we are powerless over the addict, our lives lives had become unmanageable. 

2 thoughts on “Starting again 

  1. I did steps 1-3 twice with my sponsor. Once just the 2 of us and the second time in a step study. There was 3ish months between, and my answers were different the second time around…..I think it helped me create a solid foundation of steps 1-3. Hang in there! See the positive and know you are amazing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

