How it all began

Welcome

I don’t know why you have come here or what you are looking for! This is just my space trying to make sense of the 2 years I lived with someone else’s addiction to Heroin and the affect it had on me my work my friendships and ultimately our relationship.

It’s  not going to make for good reading. If you live with an addict and are looking for answers I don’t have a magic wand – sorry! But I will be as honest as I can and if you get any comfort from the pain you are also living in then my job is done.

I have never written a blog before, I don’t know anything about them tbh but someone suggested that sharing my experience might help others. But also the things I have experienced were for me at times comical at others painful, and are just my experiences. Not going to add or take away from what happened to me, and is still on going.

Thank you for finding the time to read this and I hope you get the strength to do what you have to do for you to get through this if you are going through the same.

 

4 thoughts on “How it all began

  1. I noticed it has been a long while since your last post. I look forward to reading about HIS journey into recovery and you just being there for support. I thank you for stopping by my recovery blog, and I think you found me by way of Eric.

    Please don’t take this the wrong way. . . . You seem like a bright woman, and I say this because I care, and being a recovering addict, but not from drugs, from gambling and abuse of alcohol when I gambled.

    He is only a man. He is NOT healthy. If you have been together I think I read over 2 years? If he has not stopped by now? He is not going to. Which is kind of disrespecting you in the relationship. You don’t have to own or account to his drug addiction or recovery. The more you do? Your an enabler and in a co-dependent unhealthy relationship.

    He has to do it for himself, not for you. You deserve a man who can be there for you mind, spirit, and treat you like a woman should be treated. You should have to take the journey with me. He needs to take the journey of self-awareness and recovery on his own. 🙂

    I know we don’t know each other, but if you were my sister or best friend? I would tell you the same out of caring. . . . XO *Author, Catherine Lyon* 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes of course I totally understand and agree with your views. We have now been together in recovery and addiction for just over 3 years. He stops, he starts, heroin and crack are not easy to give up. He tries, he relapses. That sadly is the nature of addiction as you probably know? Yes we are working on the co dependency thing or at least I am thro my 12 step programme at NAR-ANON. Yes he most definitely has to do it for himself and I have said that from his first relapse whilst we have been together. Yes in the last 3 years I have learnt much that I didn’t know about – about addiction about co dependency about enabling and and I hope finding some spirituality on my journey it’s hard for me ( spirituality) because I have never gone down this road before but I am rambling! Thank you again for your thoughts it’s appreciated oxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, your not rambling . . LOL. You got this! 🙂 I do understand about wanting to help & to support him. Believe me I do. My husband stayed with me through the whole nasty mess. So I do understand. You just need to be safe. Relapse is a hard thing in early recovery. If it can help, I have a wonderful work book I found and have posted on my Recovery Blog as it’s own Page titled: Relapse Prevention Guide.

        It’s free and you can copy and paste or download it. I think it would be a wonderful relapse tool for him. I was given it in my early recovery over 8yrs ago and I can not tell you HOW much it helped me. It’s here: https://catherinelyonaddictedtodimes.wordpress.com Listed as a page not a post. I hope it helps/ Lets stay in touch OK? As I’ll be visiting your blog often. XOXO *Catherine*

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

